America's Lien Notice Company Serving the
Construction Industry since 1985
Call Us now!
(619) 972-1490
No Membership Fees & No sign-up Costs

State Laws

Warning: The information contained in this web site is not intended to constitute legal advice and should not be relied upon as a substitute for advice from an attorney licensed in your jurisdiction that you have retained to represent you.

State Pre-Lien Notice Notice of Intent Lien Notice
Alabama Required Before Lien None Required Within 6 months from the last day for Original Contractors, 4 months for Subs and Material suppliers
Alaska Before work begins None Required Within 90 days after last performance if no notice of completion
Arizona Within 20 days from first day of furnishing labor, materials, or equipment. None Required Contractor: Within 90 days from the last day of work or within 45 days if notice of completion was filed.
Subs and material suppliers: Within 60 days from last day of work or within 35 days if a notice of completion filed.
Arkansas Before work begins 10 day notice to owners, except for original contractors. Within 120 days from the last day of furnishing labor, materials or equipment.
California Within 20 days from first day of furnishing labor, materials, or equipment. None Required General / Prime Contractors: within 90 days of last day of work or within 60 days if Notice of Completion is filed.
Subs and Material Suppliers: Within 90 days of last day work or within 30 days if notice of completion is filed.
Colorado None Required Within 10 days before filing lien Within 4 months of last day of work.
Connecticut None Required Within 90 days of last day of work. Within 90 days of last day of work
Delaware None Required None Required General Contractor: Within 120 days but not before 90 days after the last date of work or delivery.
Subs and Materials Suppliers: Within 90 days of the completion of labor or from the last delivery of materials.
District
of Columbia
None Required Within 90 days of the completion of labor or from the last delivery of materials. Within 3 months from the completion
of labor or from the last delivery of
materials.
Florida Within 45 days from the first day of work. None Required Within 90 days of the completion of labor or from the last delivery of materials.
Georgia Within 30 days from the first day of work None Required If no Demand for Filing of a Claim of Lien is filed, then within 3 months after the last day of work.
If a Demand for Filing of Claim of Lien is filed, 10 days from receipt.
Hawaii None Required None Required Within 1 year and 45 days from the last day of work if no Notice of Completion was filed.
If a Notice of Completion is filed, within 45 days.
Idaho None Required Within 24 hours of filing a lien. Within 90 days of the last day of work.
Illinois Subs and Material Suppliers ONLY : Within 60 days from first day of work or delivery Subs and Material Suppliers ONLY: Within 90 days after last day of performance. Contractors: within 4 months after last performance against third parties & subsequent owners. Within 2 years after last performance against original owners.
Subs and Material Suppliers: 10 days after filing a lien notice
Indiana New Residential Construction Subs & Materials Suppliers Only: within 60 days of start of project.
Remodel: within 30 days.
Commercial : Not Required
General, Subs and
Materials Suppliers:
Residential: Within 60 days of last furnishing of labor or materials.
Commercial: within 90 days of furnishing of labor or materials.
General, Subs and Materials Suppliers:
Residential: Within 60 days of
last furnishing of labor or materials.
Commercial: within 90 days of furnishing of labor or materials.
Iowa Subs & Materials Suppliers:
Residential: Within 10 days from start.
Commercial within 30 days of start.
None Required Within 90 days from last day of work.
Kansas Residential: no time limit.
New construction/or property for sale: prior to sale of property.
Required before lien Within 4 months from last day of work for contractors. Within 3 months for subcontractors and material suppliers.
Kentucky None Required Residential: Within 45 days of last day of labor or delivery of materials.
Commercial: Within 75 days on last day for claims less than $1000. Within 120 days for claims over $1000.
Private: Within 6 months after last day of labor or deliver of materials.
Public: Within 60 days of the last date of labor or delivery of materials.
Louisiana General Contractor: Before or at the time of entering into contract.Materials Suppliers & Equipment Rental: Within 10 days of the first date of delivery Materials Suppliers & Equipment Rental: Residential: within 10 days before filing lien.
Commercial: Within 75 days of the delivery of the materials to the job site.
General: Within 60 days of the completion of labor.Sub-Contractor: Within 30 days of completion of labor (with a Filing of a Notice of Termination) or within 60 days if no Notice is filed)
Maine General Contractor: Prior to sale.
Sub Contractors on residential: No time limit
Commercial: none needed
None Required Within 90 days of last day of work
Maryland None Required Within 120 days after the last day of labor or the delivery of
materials.
Within 180 days after the last day of labor or the delivery of materials.
Massachusetts At the time of entering contract *exceptions exist – see state statute None Required Within 120 days after the last day of labor or the delivery of materials if no Notice is Filed, or 90 days if Notice of Substantial Completion is Filed.
Michigan Subs & Materials Suppliers Only: Within 20 days from first day of work. None Required Within 90 days from last day of work.
Mississippi Subs & Materials Suppliers: Within 45 days from first day of work.
General Contractor without contract: Within 10 days from start.
None Required Within 120 days from last day of work.
Mississippi None Required None Required Within 12 months from the date that monies became due.
Missouri General Contractors: Before receiving the first payment from the owner Subs,& Materials Suppliers Only: 10 days before filing lien Within 6 months from last day of labor or materials delivery.
Equipment Rentals: Within 60 days of removing the equipment from the job site.
Montana Subs and Materials Suppliers:
Residential & Commercial without a lender: Within 20 days from first day of work
Commercial with lender: Within 45 days
None Required Within 90 days from last day of labor or delivery of materials.
Nebraska None Required None Required Within 120 days from last day of work
Nevada Within 30 days from first day of work None Required Within 40 days from last day of work. With notice of completion filed, Within 90 days of last day of work without notice of completion filed.
New Hampshire Prior to first day of labor or material delivery None Required With notice valid for 120 days
New Jersey None Required Notice of Unpaid Balance must be filed within 90 days of last day of labor or material delivery, but before Mechanic’s Lien is filed. Within 90 days from last day of work. Within 10 days of arbitrator’s decisions
New Mexico Residential: Within 20 days from first day of work.
Commercial: within 60 days from first day of work.
None Required. Within 120 days from the last day of work for original contractors.
Subs and Material Suppliers: within 90 days after the last day of labor or material delivery.
New York None Required None Required. Residential: Within 4 months from the last day of labor or material delivery.
Commercial: Within 8 months of the last day of labor or material delivery.
Public: Within 30 days of the last day of labor.
North Carolina None Required None Required. Within 120 days from last day of labor or material delivery.
North Dakota None Required Within 75 days of last day of labor or material delivery and at lest 15 days before the lien is filed Within 90 days from last day of labor or material delivery.
Ohio Within 21 days from first day of work. None Required Residential: within 60 days from the last day of labor or material delivery.Commercial: Within 75 days.
Oklahoma Residential: Prior to the first day of labor or material delivery.
Commercial: Subs & Suppliers only: Within 75 days of start of project.
Equipment Rental: Within 5 days of the equipment first being used on the property
None Required Subs & materials Suppliers: Within 90 days from the last day of labor or material delivery.*
Equipment Rental companies must wait at least 60 days prior to filing a lien*
General Contractor: Within 4 months of last day of labor.
Oregon Subs & Suppliers only: Within 8 days of the first day of labor or material delivery None Required Within 75 days after the last day of labor or material delivery.
Pennsylvania None required as of 1/1/07 Sub-Contractors only: Within 30 days of filing lien Within 6 months after last day of labor or material delivery.
Rhode Island None Required Within 200 days of FIRST day of labor or materials delivery. Within 200 days of FIRST day of labor or material delivery
South Carolina General: Within 15 days of first day of work.
Sub-Contractor & Supplier: None required
None Required. Within 90 days of last day of labor or materials delivery.
South Dakota None Required None Required. Within 120 days of last day of labor or material delivery.
Tennessee General Contractor: Prior to first day of labor.
Subs & Materials Suppliers:
Commercial Only: Within 90 days of the end of the first month of non-payment.
None Required. General Contractor:
Residential: Against Owner only: No Lien, File suit within 1 year of final day of labor. Against Owner & Third Party: Within 90 days of final day of labor.
Commercial: Same as Residential.
Subs & Materials Suppliers: Residential: NO LIEN RIGHTS
Commercial: 30 days from the filing of a Notice of Completion. 90 days if no Notice has been filed.
Texas None Required None Required. Residential: No later than the 15th day of the 3rd month all or part of the labor was produced
Commercial: No later than the 15th day of the 4th month after the last day of work
Utah*filing
change 10/07*
Filed electronically with the Utah State Construction
Registry.
General Contractors: Within 15 days of the start of physical construction
Subs & Material Suppliers:
1) Within 20 days of first furnishing labor or materials OR
2) Within 20 days of the filing of a notice of commence-ment, whichever occurs later
None Required. Filed manually with the County Recorder’s Office within 180 days of the final day of labor on the entire project.If a Notice of Completion is filed, within 90 days of the Notice.
Vermont None Required None Required. Within 120 days of last day of labor or material delivery.
Virginia Residential: Must service Mechanic’s Lien Agent within 30 days of the start of labor or delivery of materials None Required Within 90 days of last day of labor or material delivery.
Washington Residential New Construction: within 10 days of first day of labor or material
delivery.
Residential remodel, commercial: Within 60 days of the start of labor or material delivery.
None Required Within 90 days from last day of labor or material delivery.
West Virginian Subs & Materials Suppliers Only: Serve owner prior to first day of labor or material delivery via certified mail Subs & materials
Suppliers:
Serve to owner by hand or process server within 100 days of the last day of labor or material delivery.
Record within 100 days of last day of labor or material delivery.
Wisconsin General Contractors only: Notice must be served at the time of entering into a contract. If no contract, then Notice must be served within 10 days of the first day of labor.
Subs & Suppliers: Within 30 days of first providing labor or materials.
At least 30 days before the time deadline for filing the Mechanic’s Lien. No later than 6 months after the last day of labor or material delivery.
Wyoming Within 30 days from first day of labor or material delivery. 10 days before
filing lien.
General Contractor: Within 120 days of the last day for work performed under the contract.
Subcontractor & Suppliers: Within 90 days of the last day that labor or materials were supplied.

© 2014 Prolien - All rights reserved.